Can’t find “Al Qaeda” in Imam Rauf’s book

I’m in the process of writing a post about Imam Feisal Rauf, who I think is an authentic Islamic moderate but probably not an effective global emissary for the cause of moderation. In preparation, a couple days ago, I went through one of his books, What’s Right with Islam: Is What’s Right with America, and photocopied some sections.

My post-in-progress focuses on passages in Rauf’s book, although this afternoon, it occurred to me that there was a phrase I didn’t recall seeing, a phrase that I would have expected to have turned up at least once: “Al-Qaeda.”

I read about Osama Bin Laden in there, but not his organization.

Here is the Amazon page for the book, where you can search the full text for the appearance of words or phrases. Can anyone find al-Qaeda even once under any spelling?

One of the quotes of Rauf being bandied around by the Mosque opponents is his refusal, in his radio interview with Aaron Klein, to condemn Hamas. Personally, I wasn’t taking that refusal to signify that he secretly condoned Hamas in any way; I only took it as acute bad judgment. It would have been smarter to condemn Hamas’ targeting of civilians and abuse of the Palestinian people’s civic and human rights, while voicing hope that Hamas would do better in their representation of the people of Gaza.

Robert Wright didn’t even think Rauf was using bad judgment. Wright, in his NYT online op-ed space, seemed to throw a fit about anti-mosque demagogues citing Rauf’s remark, saying that the Imam would become totally unpersuasive as a spokesman for moderate Islam and a good relationship between America and Islam, if Rauf spoke out against Hamas and made himself appear like an Uncle Tom to the majority of Muslims in the world.

In any event, part of the interview they’re arguing about is (emphasis mine)

I define my work as a bridge builder. I do not want to be placed, nor do I accept to be placed in a position of being put in a position where I am the target of one side or another […]

[After the interviewer points out that Hamas has targeted civilians]

The targeting of civilians is wrong. It is a sin in our religion. Whoever does it, targeting civilians is wrong. I am a supporter of the state of Israel […] I will not allow anybody to put me in a position where I am seen by any party in the world as an adversary.

I was aware that, for Rauf, this means not saying that the Muslim Brotherhood is an extremist organization, a designation he declines to make in the same interview. But I didn’t know Rauf’s trepidation at being labeled by coreligionists might go so far that he would not even mention the party calling themselves “al Qaeda” in the book he wrote about post-9/11 rapprochement between Islam and America.

Can anyone find a reference to the group through the Amazon search or in their print copy? I guess this is my first bleg.

